Q. If bees are not kosher, how can honey be?
A. Normally that which comes from an “unclean” animal is not kosher; that which comes from a “clean” animal is kosher. Nonetheless, bees’ honey is permitted because it is not a product of the bees’ bodies but is stored there (Bech. 1:2, 7b).
Israel is called eretz zavat chalav ud’vash – “a land flowing with milk and honey”, and our ancestors must have found no problem with honey. However, Biblical honey (e.g. Deut. 8:8) is usually not bee honey but fig or date honey. Bee honey is rare in the Bible, despite Judges 14.